Advisors for the Biotechnology Major are committed to providing the highest level of attention and quality.   Our goal is to foster communication and establish a personal connection between students and their advisors.

STAFF ADVISOR

Staff Advisor: Nancy Thurlow, nmthurlow@ucdavis.edu, 1220A PES

UC Davis students can make an appointment with the Staff Advisor using the on-line appointment system.

PEER ADVISING SERVICES

UC Davis students can make an appointment with the Peer Advisors using the Peer Advisors’ calendar. Others can contact the Peer Advisors at PLSpeers@ucdavis.edu.

Peer advisors can help you with:

  • Major/minor course planning
  • Course prerequisites
  • Faculty expectations
  • Classes and options for study in the major
  • Careers and graduate programs
  • Major-related clubs and organizations
  • Departmental procedures and policies
  • Internships and summer job opportunities
FACULTY ADVISORS

There are eight faculty advisors for the biotechnology major. Make an appointment to talk to one of your faculty advisors regarding graduate school, career paths, and research.

Master Advisor – John Yoder, jiyoder@ucdavis.edu, 101 Asmundson Hall
Animal Option Advisor – Mike Miller, micmiller@ucdavis.edu, 2241 Meyer Hall
Animal Option Advisor – Jim Murray, jdmurray@ucdavis.edu, 2119 Meyer Hall
Bioinformatics Option Advisor – David Neale, dbneale@ucdavis.edu, 262 Robbins HallBioinformatics Option Advisor – Dan Runcie, deruncie@ucdavis.edu
Fermentation/Microbiology Option Advisor – Linda Bisson, lfbisson@ucdavis.edu, 3144 RMI North

Fermentation/Microbiology Option Advisor – Dave Mills, damills@ucdavis.edu, 3142 Robert Mondavi Institute North
Fermentation/Microbiology Option Advisor – David Block, deblock@ucdavis.edu, 3140 RMI North
Plant Option Advisor – Abhaya Dandekar, amdandekar@ucdavis.edu, 1059 Wickson Hall

Plant Option Advisor – Diane Beckles, dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu,133 Asmundson Hall

CAMPUS RESOURCES