Advisors for the Biotechnology Major are committed to providing the highest level of attention and quality.   Our goal is to foster communication and establish a personal connection between students and their advisors.

STAFF ADVISOR

Staff Advisor: Nancy Thurlow, nmthurlow@ucdavis.edu, 1220A PES

UC Davis students can make an appointment with the Staff Advisor using the on-line appointment system.

PEER ADVISING SERVICES

UC Davis students can make an appointment with the Peer Advisors using the Peer Advisors’ calendar. Others can contact the Peer Advisors at plsadvising@ucdavis.edu.

Peer advisors can help you with:

  • Major/minor course planning
  • Course prerequisites
  • Faculty expectations
  • Classes and options for study in the major
  • Careers and graduate programs
  • Major-related clubs and organizations
  • Departmental procedures and policies
  • Internships and summer job opportunities
FACULTY ADVISORS

The Biotechnology major has one Faculty Master Advisor and several Faculty Option Advisors under each track area. Make an appointment to talk to one of your faculty advisors regarding career paths, graduate school, and research. Please note, Biotechnology students must obtain approval from one faculty advisor in their track area for internships counted towards the major requirement. For more information on internships and to download the internship approval form, please click here.

Master Advisor – Diane Beckles, dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu, 133 Asmundson Hall

Animal Option Advisor – Mike Miller, micmiller@ucdavis.edu, 2241 Meyer Hall

Animal Option Advisor – Jim Murray, jdmurray@ucdavis.edu, 2119 Meyer Hall

Bioinformatics Option Advisor – Dan Runcie, deruncie@ucdavis.edu

Fermentation/Microbiology Option Advisor – Juliana Bell, jdemourabell@ucdavis.edu, 2212 Robert Mondavi Institute South

Fermentation/Microbiology Option Advisor – Dave Mills, damills@ucdavis.edu, 3142 Robert Mondavi Institute North

Fermentation/Microbiology Option Advisor – David Block, deblock@ucdavis.edu, 3140 RMI North

Fermentation/Microbiology Option Advisor – Matthias Hess, mhess@ucdavis.edu, 2123 Meyer Hall

Plant Option Advisor – Abhaya Dandekar, amdandekar@ucdavis.edu, 1059 Wickson Hall

Plant Option Advisor – Diane Beckles, dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu, 133 Asmundson Hall; Christine Diepenbrock, chdiepenbrock@ucdavis.edu, Plant Reproductive Biology

CAMPUS RESOURCES